April 21, 2008

I’m Moving Homes!

Posted in financial decisions, personal at 11:13 pm by kimsan23

No guys, I did not buy a house.  My household has decided that our little one-room apartment doesn’t have enough space to hold all of our stuff any longer.  After careful consideration and planning –space and costs, we have decided to move to a bigger place.

Our current apartment costs us approximately 11k per month to rent.  That already includes utilities, cable and the parking space.  This new one will cost us an addtional 2.5k.  We’re hoping that it won’t kill us too much in terms of costs since a friend of ours will be moving in to share the costs. 

The first time I moved out of my parent’s house to really live away from them,  was a year and a half ago.  I had moved into a one bedroom apartment to build a home.  It was quite an experience.  I wasn’t well versed in moving expenses, and I wasn’t sure how much I needed then.  There were lot of surprise expenses I did not plan for.  Aside from the 1 month advance payment and the 2-month deposit, there was a cable connection fee, water and light deposit fees among others.  I even had to pay an additonal 3k for an LPG tank deposit!  Rip off!

Good thing about this new move is that I’m aware of most of the fees I need to pay as well as the amount of money I’ll need to come up with.

This is probably where my SSS loan will go.

2 Comments »

  1. Carlyn said,

    the LPG deposit is really a rip off, dude. bad owner!

  2. kimsan23 said,

    Kill me now! How much was it supposed to be?


Leave a Reply

